Treasures of 2012

The house was silent.

I smiled.

The toys have been put away. The leftover food stashed in the fridge. A soccer ball placed in the garage and the doll stroller parked in the closet.

The house was still.DSCN1632

And I smiled.

RB and Sweet Cheeks were in the living room sleeping on the couches in their new sleeping bags. My husband was breathing sleepy breaths as I snuggled against him.

And I smiled.

Laughter, smiles, happy eyes, hugs, kind words, colored paper, shiny bling, oo-s and ah-s, family seen, friends texted…

And I smiled.

This year has been filled with blessings, coupled with trials and grief. All along the way there has been One encouraging me to persevere and stay focused on the prize.

Mary, was this what it was like when you treasured all those things in your heart?

Lord, thank you for the treasures of 2012. And I, with trusting anticipation, place the days of 2013 into the palms of Your loving hands.

Want to see what others are thinking about these last days of the year? Click on the Blog Cruise!blogcruisebutton2

6 comments on “Treasures of 2012

  1. Pingback: 2012: A Look Back {a Blog Cruise} | Schoolhouse Review Crew

Thoughts? Feel free to share.