I Will Boast in God ~ He Can Even Use a Frog

I’m excited to introduce Laura to you! Her boast is a great example of how God can use little things to teach big Truths. Be sure to click on the link to her blog and visit her. Here is her boast in God! Enjoy!  ~ FFS

**********************

The other day I was having attitude problems. I was upset with something someone else wrote. I felt hurt, upset that they would be so careless. I wanted to confront them. I vented to my husband, for quite a while. I wanted to have a facebook debate, or at least leave a smart comment. I wanted to be witty and rude, all at once. Yes, my sin nature is alive and well!

I waited, counted to ten. Prayed for guidance.

I decided to get going with our school day and deal with it later, simmer down a bit. My sweet little, blond-headed, freckled boy grabbed his kindergarten* lesson book and crawled into the rocker with me. I opened the page to the day’s lesson: on frogs.

F is for Frog: “I will use my tongue wisely.” *wham* *palm*to*forehead*

Together we sang:

“Oh, be careful little tongue what you say,
Oh, be careful little tongue what you say,
For the Father up above is looking down in love,
So be careful little tongue what you say.”

. . . and we read:

Proverbs 21:23
Whoever guards his mouth and tongue
Keeps his soul from troubles.
 
Prov 18:6-7
A fool’s lips bring strife,
And his mouth calls for blows.
A fool’s mouth is his ruin,
And his lips are the snare of his soul.

My husband was still in the room, listening. I could see by his smile that he had heard my rebuke. All of a sudden, this hurt didn’t seem worth it. Who would appear the fool if I spouted off? A friend told me once that taking your words back is like trying to put the toothpaste back in the tube. You just can’t, and the more you try, the bigger the mess! My sweet aunt reminded me that FROG stands for Fully Relying On God. Do I rely on Him to fight my battles? Do I rely on Him for the details of how I conduct myself?

Thank you Lord for keeping my tongue from sin! I will boast in the Lord!

-Laura

©2012-2013 Loving and Learning on the High Plains. All rights reserved. All text, photographs, artwork, and other content may not be reproduced or transmitted in any form without the written consent of the author. 

*curriculum quotes from My Father’s World – Kindergarten.


Photobucket

Laura is redeemed by Jesus, a wife to Ben, and a mom to 4 miracles on Earth. Making her home on the high plains, far from the east coast bustle she grew up around, she loves worshiping, homeschooling, gardening, baking, chicken keeping, reading, and being a birth Doula. Laura writes about her adventures in country life on her blog http://www.homeschoolhighplains.blogspot.com.

****************

Do you have a story that boasts of the Lord? Please consider sharing it and encouraging others. You can comment below or email me at: future.flying.saucers@klopex.com.

4 comments on “I Will Boast in God ~ He Can Even Use a Frog

  1. Hugs to Laura! Thanks for sharing, friend. My most memorable palm to forehead moment was much the same. I was really agitated that my husband hadn’t been noticing all the extra effort I was going through to keep things in place for him. Our devotions before school was the verse “and whatever you do, do it heartily, as to the Lord and not to men.” I was doing it for men…not God. Fail…again!

Thoughts? Feel free to share.